WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Everybody-

Until a few days ago I thought I was the only person in the world who had an obsession with watches. Apparently, I was dead wrong! I'm a pilot/college student, trying to save money for my instrument rating. I don't have a NEED for a new watch, however, I've worn the same one every single day for the past 3 years (combine that with a summer job on Catalina Island, and you've got one bad watch tan), and I think I owe it to myself. I currently wear a Casio AMW320-R, which I've decided, is indestructable. As you may have guessed, I'm on a budget. I'd like to stay around $100, but for the right watch I would go upwards of $200. I know I should head to the "Affordable Watches" section, but I figured I'd see what some fellow pilots have to say first. I'll try to narrow it down the best I can.

Most importantly, it has to be analog, and self winding, hopefully unique looking. The main feature that I am looking for is a second, 24 hour time, so I can display Zulu on my watch. I also have some pretty thin wrists, so that is a factor. I like big watches, but some just aren't practical for me. The Casio I have now is pretty big, but with the resin band, it still works well. Having the date on there would also be nice. I really have no preference for the origin of the movement (Asia, Europe, etc.). I like the chronograph look, the Sinn 356 Flieger caught my eye, but way out of my price range.

I hope some of that was helpful, and not total overload. Does anybody have any suggestions? I'm open for anything.

-Monte

·
Registered
11,276 Posts
Hello and welcome to the forum, Monte! :)

getting an auto with 24h indication on your budget is going to be a challenge ... as for quartz, a Traser P6500 (with 12h bezel) or Citizen Nighthawk might come close (a forum search for those words will reveal more info than I could give right now).

·
Registered
2,614 Posts