WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Banned
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, this is my first post here on this site from an obsession which I've seen grow very fast, and in my downtime is now visited and read with some absolute fervor.
I started off owning and wearing a single watch; a Rolex Submariner (16610) I got for a birthday by my family, which sadly broke as I was on assignment in East Africa (I'm a professional photographer) only a few weeks ago (it's since been repaired). While time-less I convinced a jouralist I met to sell me a watch he had been lugging around saving as a present until he got home to his brother; a Deep Blue Juggernaut. I'm a complete watch-noob, but for what I was just going to use as a stop-gap until I got mine repaired, it started to tickle my fancy...

This has led to me being home and getting a Seiko Orange Monster (I'm in love), and now an absolute obsessive researching and reading to continue my (I am now quick to admit) obsession.

I just wanted to say hello to you all, and to thank you for leading me to the OM ('love' doesn't begin to express what I feel for it!), in my job a rugged construction is a must! If any of you might be able to suggest a watch similar to the OM, since I am still new to this world...I'd greatly appreciate it!

·
Registered
Unabashed Casio G-Shock fanboy
8,345 Posts
If you loved the OM, you'll love the SKX007. Different style, but still iconic in an understated way. Same Seiko movement.

SKX007woo.jpg
(my 007 on a fake Bond NATO)

Here's a thread about the SKX007's durability:

https://www.watchuseek.com/f21/seiko-skx007-durability-598292.html

I used to own a Monster, but now this is my favorite go-to watch.

·
Registered
117 Posts
Welcome to the forums and the obsession! I'm drawn to the 007 as well. I think I've been reading WUS too much

·
Banned
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 · (Edited)