WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
119 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Recently I am learning basic watchmaking, hoping to be able to do basic servicing by myself in the long run. While I did "enroll" in the TZ Watch School, I don't think I am going to shell out nearly $200 for an ETA movement to play with before I can be sure I won't break anything (been there, done that). So I sought out cheap metals from China.

2014-08-26 18.51.22.jpg

Since I am only learning to handle small parts, I don't really care about the condition of the watch. I bought this lot of junked manual wind watches for, like, 5 dollars.

Interesting facts:

1. I am pretty sure at least some of these are older than I am. Vintage!

2. While all these watches uses some variation of the Chinese Standard Movement, they come from watchmakers all over China - Shanghai, Danyang, Guangzhou, Tianjin, Jilin, everywhere.

3. Only one runs after winding right out of the package. And the amplitude is woeful to say the least.

4. All watches shows signs of being too close to water at some point, and lack of maintenance (duh). All the stems are rusted lumps and some even snapped with the slightest pressure. Movements inside are surprisingly clean though, at least on the surface.

5. Some watches, especially those from Shanghai, has an extra cover that wraps around the movement under the caseback. Judging from it's slightly bulged shape, my guess is this is some crude attempt of anti-shock. They certain won't protect the movement from dust or moisture.

2014-08-28 21.53.40.jpg

I ususally clean and pad my desk before working on a movement, but one look at it I decided that I cannot possibly do any more damage.

2014-08-28 22.21.59.jpg