WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
650 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello again. I own a G1000-H and I have to say it's one of my favorite G-Shocks, but it's got the worst lume out of any watch I've ever had, it lasts a mere 5-10 minutes. So I'd like to repaint the lume markers and hands on it, but I have absolutely no clue what I'm doing. As such I have many questions. :-d

What is the best kind of lume paint out there and where can I buy it?
How does the painting process work? Do I have to remove the hands when painting them(I have no tool for removing them)?
How would I go about applying the paint? Obviously it has to be done carefully and tediously, which I'm more than prepared to do :)
Does anyone know how to remove the glass from the G1000-H so I can get to the actual face?

Sorry about all of the questions, I've never done this before and I searched the forums but couldn't find a walk through/tutorial, maybe I just don't know what to search for. Anyway he's a lume shot of my G1000-H immeadiately after removing a light source :)

·
Registered
650 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Bump :)

·
Registered
7,033 Posts
I have a G1000H also and love it. It reminds me of the MRG a very expensive G with what looks like the same amount of lume. Since the hour markers are small I don't think you will be able to get much lume on them the hands will take the paint. I have read some lume threads. Try and search in the Seiko forum. The paint can be bought and it is 2 parts that mix together. I don't think you will have to worry about the crystal as it should all come out from the back. the hands are very thin and you have to be careful not to bend them.