WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
406 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I got my first Orient watch yesterday and it's what I consider to be my first quality automatic watch. I had a Kenneth Cole skeleton automatic watch a number of years back, but it was a cheap one. It did the job though and wasn't a bad piece by any stretch, but I think I left it overseas while visiting some relatives, haha.

Anyway, back to the watch I got yesterday. As the title says, I got a blue Orient Ray yesterday. I ordered it from Amazon and Amazon was the seller. I didn't see a stamp on the papers or anything like that, but all the appropriate documentation appeared to be there. I'm still fairly new to the whole watch scene so I'm still learning about that stuff.

I won't make this a long review since many others have posted their thoughts on this watch. This will be more about my experience as a new watch fanatic.

Pictures never come close to conveying the detail that these watches have, so I was immediately impressed by the watch's appearance when I opened the box. The watch was heavier than expected, but that's not a bad thing in this case. It's the kind of weight that communicates quality, if you ask me.
20150714_220029510_iOS.jpg

I immediately went to re-size the bracelet, which was my first time doing so, and it was easier than I thought it'd be. I used a tool kit I ordered from Amazon: Amazon.com: SE JT6218 Watch Band Link Remover, 5-Piece: Watches

I then wanted to try the NATO strap I ordered from Ague Trading Co. and it came out a LOT better than I thought it would in terms of appearance. I wasn't concerned about the quality of the strap, but for some reason I wished that I had ordered a plain navy blue strap instead. I'm glad I didn't though, because I think the red/white/blue looks really good! Pics:
20150714_220732919_iOS.jpg
20150714_220754832_iOS.jpg
20150714_220858693_iOS.jpg