WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello.

I recently inherited this Gruen pocket watch and have been unable to find anything like it in on-line searches. I am not a 'watch person' and would rather not take it out of the case to get pictures of the movement because I just paid a rather sizeable repair bill to get this beautiful watch running. I may be able to get information from the watchmaker who repaired it, if it would be helpful. I apologize for the quality of the pictures. I am not very good with the digital camera.

Does anyone have any idea as to where I can further research this watch or what the age might be?

Thanks!

Attachments

·
Registered
2,024 Posts
That's a humdinger of a watch, but unfortunately, records for the Gruen Watch Company were destroyed in the 1950s. So it's impossible to tell it's age. It would have a serial-number on the movement, but without the records from the company, (which don't exist anymore) we couldn't tell you the age.

What's the history of it?

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
I neglected to include measurements. The watch is 1 1/2" from the bottom of the case to the top of the stem, 1 1/4" from side to side and just a little more than 1/4" thick with the case closed.

Thanks again!

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
My maternal grandfather owned a jewelry store in the 1920's. We found it while cleaning my mother's house after her death. I don't know if it is part of the inventory of that store or something Mom picked up somewhere along the way.

·
Registered
2,211 Posts