WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 388 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm sure I'm about to be buried under several tons of GS based love all im asking is this..
as I'm new to watch collecting what is so special about a grand seiko compared to just a seiko 5 at 20 times less money ?... all passers by see is the word seiko on the dial and assume cheap watch .. only really keen watch enthusiasts would spot it ?

·
Registered
128 Posts
The movement, quality of finishing, and the history of the GS is what makes it special for watch enthusiasts. For me, I don't buy a watch to make others happy. I buy it to make me happy. And in my humble opinion, a wristwatch should be the only piece of jewelery for men.

·
Registered
1,948 Posts
Do you own research and make up your own mind about the Grand Seiko. It's NOT a typical Seiko at your local malls.

·
Moderator Public Forum
23,342 Posts
If you were to see one in person I would hope you could appreciate the design and finishing. Most watch collectors are focused on more than just the name and logo on the dial.

·
Registered
1,324 Posts
all passers by see is the word seiko on the dial and assume cheap watch ..
Most passers by think Invicta is haute horlogerie.
I don't buy watches to impress ignorant passers by.

·
Registered
1,661 Posts
I'm jealous. I wish I hadn't been able to see the difference between the great Seikos and the ordinary ones.

;)

Mark

·
Registered
4,447 Posts
I'm sure I'm about to be buried under several tons of GS based love all im asking is this..
as I'm new to watch collecting what is so special about a grand seiko compared to just a seiko 5 at 20 times less money ?... all passers by see is the word seiko on the dial and assume cheap watch .. only really keen watch enthusiasts would spot it ?
One day you will, grasshopper.

·
Registered
219 Posts