WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi, long time stalker first time poster so please bare with me.

I am new to the watch world but have been infatuated ever since I have fell into it!

I currently own: G-Shock Casioak I use as a beater, Junghans Max bill handwind which is my smart casual/dress watch, Longines HC with grey dial and ceramic bezel which is my everyday sporty watch I guess.

Recently I have been eyeing up my first ‘high end’ watch. I appreciate high end is relative and to some these two suggestions wont be high end at all but for me at 19 they will be a considerable amount.

To be honest I am not sure what exactly I am looking for but I know I find myself in a more sporty/casual attire more often than a suit at work and my day to day life.

I find myself attracted to the GS SBGN003 which I can get for around £2200 after a quick look. I have heard a lot of good things about this but not sure wether a quartz would be a good addition. Yes I know the 9F definitely isn’t an ordinary quartz with it’s accuracy and precision with hitting indices not to mention 50 year service interval.

The other piece which has caught my eye is a Cartier Santos 100 which I could grab for around a grand more than the GS. This watch I think would be a huge step up from my current dress watch and I feel it could also be used casually with it’s slightly sporty aesthetics. Also with it having a mechanical movement and arguable a more recognisable brand would this be a better addition to my collection?

I appreciate these are quite different watches and the decision is mine and to go with what I feel (which I will be doing at the end of the day) but it would be good to hear some peoples thoughts/experiences with these two watches. Should I stretch for the extra money for Santos or grab the GS?

Sorry for the long post and thanks in advance!

·
Registered
4,861 Posts