Votes: 16 88.9%
  • Tissot

Votes: 2 11.1%
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
584 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know this is a Hammy forum, so I guess results might be biased.

Just wondering which brand overall people preferred. I own a Hamilton Jazzmaster Day/Date automatic, but thinking about picking up a Tissot Heritage Visodate.

In my opinion, both are equally worthy Swiss brands. But just wondering if one appeals more than the other, and why...

·
Registered
210 Posts
I am new to Hamilton ownership (being a Seiko guy, personally) and I have never owned a Tissot so take my opinion with a few grains of salt. I choose Hamilton for the following reasons:

Hamilton watches overall have much better designs than Tissot. Most Tissot watches I've browsed appeared busy, unappealing, and in some cases, downright ugly. Most Hamilton watches I've seen, on the other hand, are classic and unassuming (exception: Ventura, ugh). Simple, good-looking designs which will endure for years. I love the look of the Khaki line - it is a perfect tool watch, imo. Likewise, I also really like the Jazzmaster and other dressy offerings. To me, there is no comparison - not even a close one.

Next, lineage, innovation, history, etc. Tissot is older than Hamilton by a few decades. I am no watch history expert, but I have always been much more familiar with the Hamilton brand than Tissot. Hamilton seems to possess a larger history of innovation than Tissot. Hamilton also has a good name in pocket watches and from the start they have been involved in building very accurate timepieces. I'm sure Tissot has achieved their fair share but to a newb like me Hamilton stands out by name.