WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
148 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First of all, just wanted to say hi to everybody here at WUS! I'm an engineer living in the Salt Lake City, UT area with a newly developed interest in horology, and I've been lurking for some time now trying to research my first mechanical watch purchase; finally decided to stop creeping and join in! Many thanks for all the information this forum has provided me in the last few months, and I'm looking forward to interacting with all of you in the future.

Now on to my question. After a month or so of research I've narrowed my aforementioned first mechanical purchase down to the Victorinox AirBoss Mach 4 handwinder (here) and the (black face) Boschett Ocean Mariner (here). I've found a deal where I can get the Vic (a $1350 list watch) for just under $600, roughly the same as the OM, but Boschett has a deal going on where I can get a free winder if I buy an OM from them. So both are IMO great deals.

Summary of specs:
Airboss Mach 4
Handwinding, not sure of movt (says automatic on macy's website for some reason, this is wrong)
100m WR
45mm diam, 12.5mm thickness
Sapphire crystal with AR coating
Exhibition caseback
Leather strap with standard buckle
Small seconds display
Internal bidirectional bezel

Ocean Mariner
Automatic ETA 2824-2 gold plated
300m WR w/ screw down crown
42mm diam, 13mm thickness
Sapphire crystal
316L stainless steel bracelet with solid end links
Date window (w/o magnifier for me)
Unidirectional diving bezel

I understand they are totally different style watches, but I'd like some input on the choice you all would make (which one would be more versatile to wear in different settings, movement concerns and preferences, etc.) Thanks in advance for your help!

PS I have a smaller wrist, about 6.25" - 6.5"

·
Registered
1,874 Posts