WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been looking at 2 different Seastars. Both are manual wind, and I am having trouble finding any info on manual wind seastars let alone these specific ones. They are both from the UK but from different sellers. As you can see from the pictures, they have very clean dials. I am not very experienced in vintage watches and thus have no idea if they are redials or just good condition. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
s-l1600.jpg s-l1600a.jpg s-l1600as.jpg s-l1600ff.jpg

·
Registered
242 Posts
Nice watches. The dials are probably original.

I'm not so sure about the hands, though, and would be curious to hear what others with more Tissot expertise think. They look fresh, new, and black, and the lume looks modern rather than aged.

·
Registered
7,843 Posts
No, the dials are not original! Nothing about these watches is original, nor any component of them has ever rolled out of the Tissot factory. They are both "Bombay Specials"- bad quality Indian made fakes, with fake dials (fantasy font) of poor quality, and both are equipped with a movement typical of Bombay Specials, the FHF 96 or its Chinese clone. Crappy finishing, the Tissot engraving looks like it was done with a chisel. No serial numbers either, although with fakes that obvious, that doesn't even matter anymore. That they were sold in the UK, makes no difference- the Bombay fakers have their "sales agents" in Europe, the US, and Canada.

·
Registered
680 Posts