WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Everyone. I have been wearing the Swiss Army Watch my wife gave me for law school graduation for about a dozen years. It's great. Has sentimental value etc. But I am now looking to buy a nice watch. For career, to let myself know that I have earned it, because I want a treat etc.

I am an attorney at a medium-sized, fairly laid back law firm in the mid-Atlantic region. And am generally a fun loving guy; don’t need to wear a suit everyday. But still need to be professional.
After thinking I would get a Shinola then thinking better of it, then considering some Fortis Terrestis, some Stowa, some Nomos, I have decided on either the Ortis Artix Complication or the Frederique Constant Runabout Moonphase. I like that the FC is 43 mm – big enough to be big but not gargantuan; love the Arabic numerals; and it’s about $400 cheaper. But love the fact that Oris has day and month along with that same date. I do, however, dislike the two dots on either side of the crown on the Oris. And the Oris face is 1 mm smaller. The watch I have now has a black face so I want a white one. And also want good night time illumination which is hard to find. So any thoughts there would be appreciated. Thanks!

Attachments

·
Registered
60,591 Posts
You've got no chance of getting an unbiassed opinion from me as I would get the Oris over almost anything else in a nanosecond. The presence of batons over Arabic Numerals would just make the Oris more of a cert for me.

·
Registered
337 Posts
While I happen to like both companies as a whole and think you narrowed it down to a couple of very good options, I think sticky hit the nail on the head in reference to the arabic numerals.

I like the font of the numerals on the FC, however on this style of watch, it makes it seem less sophisticated, less classy, or "cheaper" in a way.