WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
New to this forum so I thought I would just like to say hi to everyone and thanks to LouS for pointing me in this direction. I have been collecting watches for several years now and I have models from numerous manufacturers. I already own several Zenith models - a gold 1936 Tonneau with calibre 8 3/4F, a s/s El Primero Moonphase Chrono, purchased new in 2003, a bi-metal El Primero Captains Chrono, purchased new this year and a New Vintage 1965, also purchased new this year. Obviously Zenith have a disadvantage over here in the UK in that they have never had a very high profile and very few dealers, in fact the dealer who sold me my two new models this year has just informed me that they were no longer going to carry the brand. This seems very unfair to me bearing in mind they have only had it for just over a year and have always kept the display tucked away at the back of the shop. The low profile also means that there are a lot less vintage models available to collectors.
I have now decided to start limiting my purchases to vintage Zenith and JLC models. My main problem is that I do not know whether to concentrate on one particular model/calibre i.e. El Primero models or to collect various models from through the eras. I am not particularly bothered about making purchases that will increase dramatically in value as my collection is solely for my pleasure. However I do understand that if I want some of the rarer models I will have to pay more to begin with and that they are the most likely to increase in value in the future. Any suggestions would be most appreciated.

·
Registered
665 Posts