WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
381 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

Need some advice.

I have an Omega seamaster CK2913-3. I've had her for a few years and while I still love her, I've been contemplating selling her.

The bezel is a redo, albeit not a great job like Aldo but I suppose whomever did it, did the best they could.

The watch itself was completely overhauled by the well known Al Archer and she runs great now.

I also have an Omgea extract from the archives confirming the watch's authenticity.

So here's the deal - im headed to HK over the holidays and am very tempted to try and trade for well, i dunno. Maybe a Rolex Explorer 1016? Perhaps a vintage Bathycaphe if I can find one.

Has anyone done a trade in HK? What was the experience like? (Because I assume they'll try to rip me off on the trade.)

The thought of taking such an expensive watch with me and the extract seems like a bunch of trouble. Never mind if customs back home thinks I'm bringing an expensive watch back.

Is it potentially worth it? Thoughts? Advice?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
Patek Philippe 5960P, Grand Seiko SBGM221, Rolex Exp II Polar, Omega FOIS, JLC Reverso, AP 11.59
2,335 Posts
Vintage Concept in Central has a couple of 1016 Explorers that are priced around HK$120000 and up. Very unlikely they’d do a straight trade as Omega are not the most popular brand in HK. Also London Watch in Mong Kok is another that would have 1016’s and might take the Omega in but again a straight trade is extremely unlikely. As for a Bathyscaphe I’ve never seen one here!

·
Registered
381 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·