WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 157 Posts

·
Registered
372 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am an IT QA consultant, normally working on-site at large pharmaceutical companies. I am eyeballing a Rolex DJ, two-color, white back with roman numerals (yum-yum), but wonder how my clients, and people overall, would react to seeing a Rolex on my wrist. I am normally surrounded by people whose idea of a luxury watch is a $400 Movado. The last thing I want is to have the "screw you, you show-off!" thought going through my clients' mind, followed by "we are obviously paying you too much."

So far, I've only met three guys who wore a Rolex - my doctor, my dentist, and a guy I am suing for "tortious interference with contract" (another yum-yum, when I get the bastard).

So share your experience when your Rolex was recognized. How were you perceived? What feelings flew? What did it do to your reputation?

·
Registered
1,448 Posts
Depending on who is asking, and in what tone, I'd just tell them it was a $100 fake and also mention that you might have overpaid.

·
Premium Member
2,879 Posts
If you have the type of client base who would judge you negatively because of the watch you wear, the suit you wear, the shoes you wear, car you drive, etc., and they have a direct effect on your income then perhaps you should adjust these things accordingly. Outside of that, who cares. If someone asks, tell them you are a collector and begin to bore them with meaningless watch details. They will never question you again.

·
Registered
1,044 Posts

·
Registered
372 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·

·
Registered
372 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
And...?
what happens when you say "hell yeah, you monkey! I'd never insult the watch making universe by buying a fake, and will have you killed just for assuming that I would!"?

Lol, sorry
That is the reaction
"hey, that's a rolex"
"yup"
"is it real?"

·
Registered
8 Posts