WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello everyone, i stumbled upon this forum and think that a majority of you have great insights on valuing watches. I am an amateur but would like to get more in depth into the watch world.
My question is: how do you evaluate a watch? The consensus is that brands like Tag Heuer, Nomos, Omega, Breitlings, etc fall into the high-end category, while Tissot, Mako, might be in the middle end. But do you judge a watch based on its brand and what it's purported to be made of? If so, how do you tell a genuine one from a counterfeit one? Do you judge from its movements, quality etc?

·
Registered
2,821 Posts
Hello everyone, i stumbled upon this forum and think that a majority of you have great insights on valuing watches. I am an amateur but would like to get more in depth into the watch world.
My question is: how do you evaluate a watch? The consensus is that brands like Tag Heuer, Nomos, Omega, Breitlings, etc fall into the high-end category, while Tissot, Mako, might be in the middle end. But do you judge a watch based on its brand and what it's purported to be made of? If so, how do you tell a genuine one from a counterfeit one? Do you judge from its movements, quality etc?
What consensus are you talking about?...:-s

·
Registered
17,054 Posts
Welcome to the forum!

It's a fair question. Brand name is the easiest indicator of likely quality - we trust what we know, like the brands you've mentioned. Or search for reviews on them. If you're buying from an unknown brand you need to know your stuff: find out what movement is in the watch and if it's any good, what the case is made of and by whom etc. But nothing bests trying them on - that can change your opinion of a watch you've only seen in pictures considerably.

As per replicas we don't discuss them here I'm afraid but there are some very good ones out there so buy from a reputable dealer and you should be fine.