WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
782 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I wonder how long we can keep our Seiko automatic watches in a "non-running" state before it is damaged by lack of activity? :-s

What I mean is that the movement has stopped and the watch is just kept in storage. Will it be damaged if we keep it like this? How long do you think it will take before damage occurs? :roll:

Thanks in advance for your kind replies. |>

Cheers.

·
Registered
2,535 Posts
I'm no expert, so I'd defer to the watchmakers (and even the wannabe watchmakers) on this one, but here's my two cents:

I can't see why leaving a watch in an inactive state would cause any wear and tear to the parts. After all, parts that aren't running aren't wearing out.

Lubricants are a different story, though. I would guess that if you left a watch sitting for the entire duration of its normal service interval, you'd want to have it serviced before you used it again to ensure proper lubrication of all the moving parts.

For what it's worth, I bought my one Seiko automatic earlier this year and it has a 2005 serial number. It runs perfectly normally despite having presumably spent the better part of the past two years in an inactive state.

·
Registered
495 Posts
I kept my square case 5606 dress watch in the back of a drawer for the better part of the 90s (either to protect if from the Clinton years, or to see if it was tough enough to handle the Bush years, but I digress) and when I finally pulled it out, it started ticking immediately. I still haven't sent it in for service or lubrication, ever, and I've had it since new from circa 1979.

It keeps accurate time.

·
Registered
3,645 Posts
I'm no expert, so I'd defer to the watchmakers (and even the wannabe watchmakers) on this one, but here's my two cents:

I can't see why leaving a watch in an inactive state would cause any wear and tear to the parts. After all, parts that aren't running aren't wearing out.