WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
969 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
if I don't wear it? I was thinking of getting a couple rubber straps now, while I can get my hands on them just to keep as back ups. Just in case something can't be easily had in the future. These will be for my keeper watches...my MM300 and my Bremont. If I keep them in a drawer will they last forever or will they deteriorate just as if I had worn them? Opinions wanted. Am I crazy? I'd hate to be in a position in 10 or so years when I can't get replacement stock rubber for some of my prized watches. I don't think the MM is natural rubber, but I still don't see it lasting forever. What do you think?

·
Registered
10,604 Posts
The MM strap is polyethylene strap that holds up pretty well over time, but of course they're a lot stiffer than natural rubber. My guess is that as a plastic it would degrade less over the years when compared to a rubber strap. I'm no expert on natural rubber, but I've owned a lot of scuba gear and watch straps made from the material over the years. UV light is the biggest enemy that I've found, and heat will do a number on rubber as well. So if you keep them in a dark, cool place, you should get a long life out of them. Oxygen does degrade rubber as it ages, but that process is much slower than light/heat/stress. Perhaps if you want to store them long term, you could place them in one of those vacuum sealed bags to further extend the lifespan.

·
Registered
974 Posts