WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
602 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

The reason I ask is, I am in the market for a new ExplorerII black dial. I called my local Rolex AD, and they told me that they were having this huge after thanksgiving sale, and I could get one for 10% off their price of $5075.00. And they seemed very proud of themselves that they would allow me that 10%! Now I have been buying and selling watches for a while, but I am fairly new to buying a Rolex from an AD, is this normal? I have heard of other brands AD's giving 20%-30% off, is this out of the question, or do I have to wave cash in front of their face to get them to deal?

Any advice is greatly appreciated:-!

Andy

·
Registered
140 Posts
HI,

Yesterday, I went into an AD (in the UK) and I got 11% off of the list price. However, I had to give them a £500 ($1,000) deposit for them to do it so close to christmas.

hope this helps.
I wouldn't expect much more than that. Plus i had bought from them before.

·
Registered
767 Posts
Depends on the watch and the location. I priced a Sea-Dweller in Singapore and they wouldn't give me a cent off recommended retail price; Hong Kong were happy to allow the maximum of 15% off RRP -- except for the Daytona which can be priced above RRP, although there is no waiting time for delivery. In Australia I've seen typical discounts of 10% but not for Daytona or Sea-Dweller which are RRP or no deal. In Virginia your 10% might be the norm.

·
Registered
13,407 Posts
I got 7% off my Seadweller (US) and they acted like they'd done me huge favor.

·
Registered
335 Posts
It is all supply and demand. My dealer will discount 10% on sport watches and that makes me very happy!
brian

Hi All,