WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Banned
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am just really worried about my watches if I bumped them or something. Recently I was playing soccer with my friends and I blocked a soccer ball with my hands. Will this affect the movement of my watch? (Calibre 1887). How much shock can Tag Heuers take?

·
Registered
775 Posts
You played soccer with your tag heuer cal 1887 piece....did you really need to stop in between points to tell the time and not worry about getting hit in the face? ...lol...be sensible and take off the watch. How much shock can they take? Only one way to find out...right?..

·
Registered
145 Posts
Watches are not as delicate as most people think they are. In my younger years (a long time ago) I was a pro golfer. I always wore my watches while playing which was daily, and never had a problem. I have also shot Trap and Skeet with them on. They never missed a beat. The same can't be said about any dings or scratches you might incur while doing such things though.

·
Registered
28,501 Posts
I don't swing a golf club, a ball bat or shoot a pistol with my watch on since that sends a lot of shock to the watch.
Although, I have read that people have done all of these things with watches and haven't had a problem...

I think modern mechanical watches are more sturdy than we often give them credit for, but my theory is not to take unnecessary risk if I do not have to. I would not be afraid about your soccer ball incident. Chances are everything will be fine. If for some reason your watches stops keeping good time, you can start to worry...

·
Registered
1,017 Posts
I shoot handguns with my BR01-97 on and have not had an issue. Mostly 9mm and .357. Two rounds out of a 500 S&W magnum once - watch never skipped a beat.

·
Registered
579 Posts