WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
813 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm thinking about picking up a Rangeman, though I admit to wondering if there will be an update or something new and exciting from Basel. I know I'm alone with this ;-)

My favorite Rangeman has an army green bezel and strap with positive display. Other than the Camo version, Casio doesn't make the version I want. My understanding is that the best way to go is to buy a Black Positive then swap in a Green bezel and strap (are there several versions of Green?).

But I've never touched a G-Shock with a screwdriver. How hard is this? If I'm careful and good with my hands, is it just a matter of unscrewing a few screws and popping the new one on? I'm sure there are youtube tutorials, which I should probably look for ;-)

Thanks.
John

·
Registered
2,737 Posts
I did my GravityMaster and getting the shell off and on was sort of hard. I was afraid I was going to break it. I finally got in on but there was a little spring between the case and module that went to spring heaven.

·
Registered
36,279 Posts
Rangeman: Positive Green

Hi, What you are considering is really a band and bezel swap as opposed to a module swap which requires 2 watches

What you propose will get you this:
Positive green with red eye with RED Rangeman

To get a positive green with gold eye and yellow "Rangeman" requires a green watch to get the gold eye with yellow "Rangeman" and a black (or yellow) watch to get a positive screen module. The eye is integral to the case. You need to get a green case.

Initially I did only the band and bezel swap which was OK until I was encouraged by seeing another member do the module swap and teach us what issues to be careful of when opening a Rangeman and removing the module.

This thread contains crucial information about what to do to safely swap Rangeman modules:

http://forums.watchuseek.com/f17/rangeman-proposition-make-positive-green-rangeman-948861-4.html