WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

How to identify different Omega calibre 2500 generations

11K views 22 replies 8 participants last post by  semmern 
#1 ·
Hi Everyone,

Apologies if the question sounds naive. I am new to different movements and still learning. Could anyone guide me as to how to identify the correct calibre 2500 generation on an Omega? Is it publically known through serial numbers or should you contact the service centre? Thanks!

Best regards,
Vish

#2 ·
Yes, serial number is a good indicator. Someone else can chime in about the range. Many of the earlier A's and B's were replaced under warranty and now it's mostly C's and D's out there. Both are fine, but if you're looking for a D variant, look at the numerals on the date wheel. C variant on the left and D variant on the right. The "1"s on the D variant have serifs and it's the easiest way to spot it.

Also, if you have the know-how, open up the caseback and look in front of the balance wheel. It's there.

#3 ·
Yes, serial number is a good indicator. Someone else can chime in about the range. Many of the earlier A's and B's were replaced under warranty and now it's mostly C's and D's out there. Both are fine, but if you're looking for a D variant, look at the numerals on the date wheel. C variant on the left and D variant on the right. The "1"s on the D variant have serifs and it's the easiest way to spot it.

Also, if you have the know-how, open up the caseback and look in front of the balance wheel. It's there.
Oh, brilliant! Thanks very much for the info, NikoMos. Much appreciated.

#6 ·
There are plenty of B’s still out there, as Omega didn’t replace movements with newer versions generally. Many people say the date wheel is an indicator, but keep in mind that the date wheel is a part that can be changed to make any version look like a D, so that is not a reliable indicator. Really the best way to tell is to look at the movement.

Cheers, Al

#8 ·