WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I'm new to the watch world. I recently purchased a Bell & Ross 03-92 Steel. I hear on podcasts people saying, "my watch keeps great time." How do I properly test a watche's precision? Is this done generally over a 24 hour period or longer?

Attachments

·
Registered
384 Posts
I'd say the most readily accessible way would be to download the WatchCheck app for your phone and use it to build a daily log of how your watch keeps time against NTP servers.

·
Registered
12,121 Posts
I just go to time.is and set my watch according to this. Then something the next day (around 24 hours later), I compare it again. That's as much as I worry about, but then I change watches every day and by the time I get back around to the first watch, it's long since run down/needs resetting. Hence, I don't worry about accuracy or precision.

BTW, welcome to the madness. You and your wallet are in for a treat. ;)

·
Registered
3,169 Posts
Find an accurate time source, I like the “Emerald and Sequoia” time app. Wait until the second hand on your watch reaches 12oclock and pull out the crown. Set the correct time and wait for the app’s seconds to reach “0”, now push in the crown. Now your watch is perfectly synchronized with an atomic time source.

Check your watch against the same app in 24 hours and see how much time it’s gained or lost.

Enjoy!

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

·
Registered
164 Posts
I recently went through the same process. I checked the watch against my atomic clock app once daily for seven days. I found that the difference was little on the weekdays when I wore it more than on the weekend . I averaged out over the 7 days.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
7,570 Posts
I hear on podcasts people saying, "my watch keeps great time." How do I properly test a watche's precision?
I often wonder exactly the same thing. What does that statement actually mean?