WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am looking for a new watch. I have no experience with any other watches except my G-Shock MGT900DA-8V that I've had for a year or so. I have certain needs (I will list them). Someone else has probably posted something like this before (I don't want to beat a dead horse).

1. It has to be self illuminating , I personally do not like the fact that if I want to know what time it is at night I have to press a button and the entire dial lights up.

2. Has to have a large band, because I have around a 10 1/2 inch wrist.

3. Price has to be under $600 (I will be saving up to buy this).

4. Has to be possibly automatic,self winding,solar,etc.

5. It doesn't matter if it's stainless or not.

6. Has to have date somewhere on dial. (This doesn't matter all that much.)

7. Last but least, it has to last a long time ,it's not in my budget to buy a new watch every two or so years (I have a family)

I posted this before and someone told me to post it again on the dive watch forum.

Please note that I know some about watches not a lot but some.

·
Registered
8,826 Posts
Happy New Year & welcome to the DWF!Google "Tritium Watch"...Self Illuminating & can be had in a budget range of $50.00 up to $5000.00 or more!Check out Deep Blue watch Co. & Luminox just to name 2....

·
Registered
94 Posts
1-as stated above, you'll likely be looking at a watch with tritium for illumination.

2-Unless you insist on a factory-original steel band (which you don't specify), then replacement bands are common and inexpensive, so there's no reason to pass on a watch simply because the supplied band is too small.

3- "Has to be possibly automatic,self winding,solar,etc." Etc? So,does this include standard quartz, or not?

4- "Has to have date somewhere on dial. (This doesn't matter all that much.)" Which is it ? Does it HAVE to have a date, or does it "not matter all that much" ?