1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I have a men's pocket watch in a standard metall case. And case is marked:

Mark1.jpg

The clockwork is marked with the "Swiss made". Anyone of you knows this brand and who is the manufacturer?

Thank you very much.

P.S. Sorry for my bad English.

·
Zenith Forum Co-moderator
19,148 Posts
Welcome to the forum. The picture shown by you looks just like a standard German silver hallmark of that time (mid 1880s onwards) and has nothing to do with the watch per se. So, the case is German (not unusual at that time, even in Swiss watches).

German Hallmarks II, page 1 - Encyclopedia of Silver Marks, Hallmarks & Makers' Marks

I would advise you to post photos of the watch, particularly the movement, so we can help you further.

Hartmut Richter

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
Thank you very much for your answer. I am a beginner in the knowledge of watches. I attach to preview a photo (not very good). In the evening I will add better photos. Thank you again.

IMG-20150112-01316.jpg

On the back cover is engraved "0800" (in a rectangle) and "1606y29v" (record of repair?).

·
Registered
5,315 Posts
The 0800 is the silver content (80% pure silver, which is a sometimes referred to as coin silver). Thats a "usable" silver content (as opposed to the higher grade Sterling standard of 95%). Coin silver doesn't polish as brightly as sterling, but it's more rugged and doesn't tarnish as quickly, usually. If the other code looks like it was hand written, then yes that's a watchmakers service code. Generally useless to you unless you happen to have access to the original watchmaker's records.