WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I have a CW C60 Trident Pro which I got around September last year. I keep it on a watch winder and I set it at the beginning of May (after the April date flick) and left it. Today I notice it is over 5 minutes slow... by my maths that's an average of -25s per day. I don't think that's within the acceptable boundary for a Sellita SW-200. Anyone any thoughts?

Cheers.

·
Registered
2,545 Posts
I'm a bit of a novice at this... but what happens if you wear it on your wrist? How about when you lay it at different positions on a table overnight (dial up, dial down, crown up, crown down, etc...)?

My watches all behave differently depending what I/its doing. I've even seen different variance between when I've let it unwind and stop and the next wind. Just based on my limited experience with several watches over a number of months I've gone from being convinced I needed my new watches regulated to understanding their idiosyncrasies and keeping them within a minute or two weekly to as little as few seconds. For one stint my watch was losing over 15 seconds a day so I let it unwind and now wind it in the morning and night (even though it is automatic) and it has been staying within 2 seconds per day. I've learned automatic watches are a strange animal. I suppose if I had a $6K spring drive Grand Seiko I wouldn't be so forgiving trying to work with a watch that was not consistently within a couple of seconds.

Lastly, my one watch that seems to have the most variability has a warranty for +20/-15... Their identified test I wind and lay dial up for a 24 hour period. I'm curious that the 'rules' are for your C60 and how it actually performs. For any kind of diver with sealing, I'd want to really weigh heavily if I want to open up the case mid-maintenance cycle... and then will the shop be pressure testing it when done?

With that said, check his link: