WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,
this is my first time on the forums and the first time I have become an owner of a pocket watch. My girlfriend has recently bought me this watch as an engagement present. I am awaiting its arrival in the mail and will post more photos and info when I have it.

In the meantime, I was wondering if anyone could tell me any more about the watch. What its method of time setting is likely to be and its value.
I appreciate all responses.
Many thanks
James

·
Premium Member
6,673 Posts
If you type the serial number on the movement into the search engine at pocketwatchdatabase.com, you will get a lot of information.

Your girlfriend can probably tell you the value.

Did you happen to read this other thread? Maybe some interesting information for you.
https://www.watchuseek.com/f11/elgin-watch-question-4652785.html

·
Registered
947 Posts
It looks to be one of Elgin's "Streamline" 12 size models. I have one with the same dial from 1924 with a Grade 479 17 jewel movement. The Streamlines used slimmer movements and also larger 14 size dials, lending the watches a larger and flatter look.

The time is set by pulling out the crown and turn to set the hands. Then push the crown back in. That's it, a straightforward pendant set watch.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks Gumby992, that's pretty interesting.
Thanks also for the setting info. With regards to winding the watch would I be correct in assuming that while I have the crown down I should turn it clockwise? Will I know its wound when there is no more give?
James

·
Registered
947 Posts
Thanks Gumby992, that's pretty interesting.
Thanks also for the setting info. With regards to winding the watch would I be correct in assuming that while I have the crown down I should turn it clockwise? Will I know its wound when there is no more give?
James