WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I’ve been into watches since I was a kid. In my early teens I somehow became aware of Tudor watches, Rolex quality cases and bracelets with economical movements intrigued me. I had a number of vintage watches, things I found at yard sales and antique stores, but nothing spectacularly cool. I recall eyeing V&C’s and Patek’s at a jewelry shop in downtown Santa Barbara while attending UCSB, getting watch mailers from watch shops in San Francisco, but I was a poor college student. When I started working, I was keeping an eye on Tudor’s, but they were still more than I wanted to spend. I was lucky to buy a Rolex Datejust from the early 80’s for $600 in 07, wore it for a year and sold it for $1250, which was fair market value at the time. At that time I could ask my watch guy about dive watches or Omega Chronos and he would pull out a roll of 10 or so watches, most around $1500, ah the good old days. Somehow the Tudor Sub still eluded me, though I started to understand that I preferred a stainless case with a solid Swiss movement and a dial that I could stare at with enjoyment. I briefly, maybe a week, had an Omega Seamaster from the early 00’s and found it very ugly. Luckily a customer, I was a bartender at the time, was into watches also and bought it for more than I paid for it.