WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Banned
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I quite fancy the Speedmaster Triple Date despite it's "busy" looking dial. I've noticed recently there are quite a few of these available online and I'm interested. From what I've read, it uses quite a reliable and accurate movement which is also easy to service. Seems like a good choice for a first time buyer, I'm confident as a newbie I can get my hands on a good one if I do enough research. Hopefully I can get some additional info from you guys.

From what I have read, there is the earlier version 3523.80, and the newer version from around 2008, the 3220.50 which is also a chronometer. Forgive my ignorance but does that mean it's a proper chronometer with a certificate? There doesn't seem to be much of a price difference between the two and from what I know, chronometers are usually always priced higher.

Other than that, I don't think I've read much else on any differences between the two variants. I'll be looking into it more closely over the next couple of days but I'd appreciate it if anyone could point out any differences I might miss. I can't actually tell if it's 39 or 40mm. Some posts I've read indicate the 3220.50 is 40mm.

Are there any known issues I should know about or anything I should look closely at when checking the watch? I'll be watching youtube vids to see how everything works so I don't make a fool of myself asking why one of the hands doesn't move or why the calendar doesn't advance when I turn the crown.

Thanks in advance.

·
Sponsor
13,171 Posts
Main differences:

3521.xx - 39mm, solid bezel, fold clasp bracelet
3523.xx - 39mm, bezel with insert (usually steel), hidden clasp bracelet
3220.xx - 40mm bezel with color insert, moonwatch-style bracelet, chronometer