WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1,093 Posts
Hello all,

I am a 28 year old, I work in finance. I am considering purchasing a used classic looking date-just, or most likely the Tudor version, you all know the type...and what they look like. It would be the Two-tone, with the ridged bezel, etc.

What I want some opinion on is....

1) Is this age and profession appropriate?

2) Is going with gold and stainless two-tone a big mistake?

3) Any other information you think I should consider?

I am fairly preppy. In the summer time, my office is business casual. My other watches I wear regularly and a Speedmaster Pro, a Tag, a Longines Chronograph, etc. My dress watch is a JLC Master Control Ultra thin (in gold). Just to give some perspective on what I am adding to the collection.

So, I would greatly appreciate your thoughts!

If I get some thoughts, since we all LOVE pictures... I will post pics of current collection.

Thanks!

- Brian

·
Registered
3,107 Posts
Some people knock two-tone particularly, and gold in general. I happen to think it would be a great choice, and one which would serve you well for years. These watches are timeless classics.

·
Registered
1,852 Posts
You know what I think is inappropriate? Someone who is obviously capable of accumulating a fine collections of watches that appear to give pleasure in both wearing and acquisition and then who comes to a forum for reassurance that it's OK to buy another watch of a certain style.

Jeepers, by your admission of career CV and current status you seem quite capable of making a lot of good decisions. If a two toned Datejust or Prince Date style is on your wish list for another watch, why in the world would you care what others think is appropriate for your current conditions?