WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2,772 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi all,

I have very little experience with the PO and have always wanted one. I stumbled across one in my price range and was wondering what you guys think.

The clasp and case back look pretty spot on to me and there is a serial # on the 7 o'clock lug. But the 'Seamaster' script on the clasp looks kind of off for some reason. It looks pretty used and beat up and I don't see the security globe but to my knowledge, some were made prior to Omega using this security feature?

My inklings say this is real but the price is a bit too good to be true unless the watch is in pretty bad shape.

Thanks in advance!

Attachments

·
Registered
397 Posts
No.. Its a fake. First sign is the pearl. The font on the dial is too "Bold" as well.

·
Registered
2,772 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
No.. Its a fake. First sign is the pearl. The font on the dial is too "Bold" as well.
Awesome thanks! This is why I love these forums, knowledgable and informative :-!

Some of these fakes are getting really good, I've been researching fake Seamaster bonds and have gotten pretty good at spotting those but this one looks pretty darned detailed.

·
Registered
2 Posts
the seahorse on the back case looks a bit different than mine...
also on the front face, the date window... on mine (authentic) the right frame is flush to the 3 o'clock mark. this one is a few mm away from it...

·
Registered
397 Posts
Yah. They are getting pretty good with the PO. What's scary is that with only a few EASY fixes, it'll be MUCH harder to distinguish a real from a fake. It seems like they have the hardest parts right! (case, bracelet, bezel)... Scary..

·
Registered
6,855 Posts
on mine (authentic) the right frame is flush to the 3 o'clock mark. this one is a few mm away from it...
That is the difference between a 42mm and 45.5 mm PO.