WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited by Moderator)
Hi, I have the above watch that I purchased probably around 12 years ago from a online army and navy store. Since it has been in my possession it has not required any service and has not undergone any work. I was hopeful that someone with an expert eye could let me know if they think all is well with this particular piece. Many Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
422 Posts
Looks okay superficially, but any vintage watch should have a good clean and service before you think about wearing it. The oil used to lubricate the components will have dried up over this amount of time, and even if the watch is ticking away and appears to be running great, it's putting undue wear on all of the moving parts until they're properly lubricated again. Cool watch in any case!

·
Premium Member
7,585 Posts
I'm not really an expert, but it looks ok to me. MOD replacement dial obviously.

·
Registered
1,106 Posts
Beautiful watch, congrats.

Generally speaking the first IWC's military watches based on design according to MoD specs 6B/346 (AKA Mk.11) were issued around 1949. The IWC first "issue" did not contain the triangle at 12 o’clock and it wasn't until 1962 that the T in circle appeared above the 6. So we can safely say your watch must have been made post that date and it looks like IWC cal 89. As a matter of interest - it's been reported that 8000 MK 11 watches were manufactured between the years 1949 and 1953. The spec MK11 ceased in 1981 and about 1000 units were sold commercially up until 1984.

·
Premium Member
7,585 Posts