WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
591 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
For the past two months I have been watching ebay auctions (more so than usual) looking for one of those Type 1, K-43, Kirov (whatever they are called or being called on ebay :-d) really big old WWII style military looking watches with the second hand in the 9 o'clock position. Is it just me or are they getting way too much of 'em? I was watching a couple this past month and was kinda tempted to get one. Now I realize that many of these (or all of them) are frankenwatches but I liked a couple of the finished products and thought if I could get one for around $20-$30 it might be an interesting purchase.

Needless to say I am avoiding these because I really cannot justifiy paying $100-$300 for something that isn't what it claims to be. I mean I am still learning what to look for when checking out the movement, but some look like they have been pulled out of pocket watches or as mentioned here divers watches.

Anyway I am thinking about ordering a Vostok K-43 reissue with the second hand in the 9 o'clock position. I would love to get some feedback from the members, this is a bit of a tough decision. Are people with them satisfied with them? Are they a good value for the cost? Secondly, what is the overall size comparable to a Vostok Amphibia or as big as the VE Mryia?

Thanks in advance

·
Registered
2,465 Posts
If I were you I would get an original K-43. Although most of them on the Bay are franken there are almost always a few that are not. That Vostok reissue is nice too, though.

·
Registered
733 Posts