WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

Have you sold your LACO online/offline/using this site? How fast moving items are these in your opinion and how well do they retain their value?

I checked some classifieds and saw adds that are 1-2 years old which may indicate that 2nd hand watches dont change the owner so fast. Second observation was that the watches lose around 40-50% of value on the 2nd hand market.

Im new to watches in general but really loving LACO and planning on buying a
LACO Leipzig Erbstuck.

Just curious on your pro opinions here.

cheers

·
Banned
7,741 Posts
Who would you buy a watch you already plan on selling? Don’t buy watches as investments, they almost all lose money.

·
Moderator at Large
53,097 Posts
Have you sold your LACO online/offline/using this site?
No. I am not a flipper. Usually I keep the watches I buy.

How fast moving items are these in your opinion and how well do they retain their value?
There aren‘t much watches retaining their value on the 2nd hand market. Some Patek, Vacheron, Rolex being the exception to the rule. Laco is not (except the original WWII B-Uhr in top oversll condition).

I checked some classifieds and saw adds that are 1-2 years old which may indicate that 2nd hand watches dont change the owner so fast. Second observation was that the watches lose around 40-50% of value on the 2nd hand market.
Correct. Any watch you buy today is a used one tomorrow.

I’m new to watches in general but really loving LACO and planning on buying a LACO Leipzig Erbstück
A Laco Leipzig Erbstück is difficult to sell. It‘s not everybody‘s cup of tea due to the artificial aging techniques, due to looks. thus, there are (almost automatically) fewer potential buyers in the market. A Flieger Original will sell faster and with less loss for sure.

B13162DA-3698-41B6-852E-945FF9AE4F99.jpeg

·
Registered
2,094 Posts