WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Everyone,
I am trying to take a difficult decision: Longines Hydroconquest L3.644.4.96.6 versus Omega Seamaster 300m Chrono Diver?
I like both of them and I am currently leaning towards Longines Hydroconquest L3.644.4.96.6, because it is half the price of Omega Seamaster 300m Chrono Diver; I want to buy a durable and quality diver's watch( with blue dial), that I could wear also everywhere - work, sport activities, parties...
I have three questions:
1.For me the only difference ( except the price) is that the Omega has Automatic-chronometer movement and the Longines has has only automatic movement( but not chronometer)- how important is this in terms of precision?
2.How about their DURABILITY?
3.And last, I live in US, how is the customer service of Longines versus Omega in US, in case there is a problem with these expensive watches?
Because I am completely new in the field of watches, I would appreciate your knowledgeable opinions.
Thank you very much for your time in helping me to buy a new watch .

·
Registered
2,932 Posts
I don't like the crown guards on the Longines, looks a little too prominent. But if it looks good in real life and it's the one you like more then go for it.

I'll give you a little warning though, if you're settling for it due to price, you may end up regretting the purchase in the long run.

·
Registered
94 Posts
I tried on the Hydroconquest in person. IMO the big numerals were not my cup of tea.

But you may want to add bracelet comfort to your list of criteria.

Besides the chrono aspect (and the price) putting the watches in different leagues, I'd say the bracelets on those are in quite different.
The 20mm Bond bracelet on SMPC is renowned for it's supple comfort.
The HydroConquest is 21 (or 22?) non-tapering, with way bigger links. Won't be near as comfy especially on a smaller wrist.

·
Registered
478 Posts