WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Folks,

I am seeking to buy a new watch. I like to know from all the experts which would be a better watch to buy. Would it be Longines or would it be Montblanc? Please give me your reasoning so that I can understand why do you suggest so as I am new to watch branding.

Why Longines?

I am a petite person and I notice that I have better choices in Longines for 36 mm size watches. I noticed they have good collections of elegant dress watches. While Longines has a long history, they were bought over by Swatch, isn't it? I am not too impressed with Swatch brand.

Why Montblanc?

I have been using their pen and I know they have a reputation. They have good watches but they seem to be highly priced. The watch that I can buy, that is 36 mm, is rather limited as Montblanc makes 39 mm and above ranges when it comes to sizes. Therefore, very limited choices.

Please advice.

Thanks!

·
Registered
10,736 Posts
Longines has been making watches much, much longer than MB. You will be hard pressed to find a bad value in a Longines. There are some MB watches that are not necessarily desirable by general watch enthusiasts, especially their earlier quartz watches. That being said, some of MB's later model mechanical watches are high quality timepieces that justify their price point much, much better.

If budget is a constraint, buy Longines and rest assured that you have acquired a quality watch from a long respected brand. If budget constraints are not as great a concern, you could pick up a new MB mechanical watch and know that you are wearing a very nice watch from a watch brand that is not quite as common. I would imagine it is also a fun idea to consider wearing a MB watch if you enjoy using their pens ;-)

:edit: