WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
331 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I'm new to the Pen (and watch game for that matter):

Does anyone have any advice on which pens are good value for a moderate price?

Thanks!

·
Premium Member
8,941 Posts
Define moderate price for you, for a pen.

·
Registered
586 Posts
Costco sells the Mont Blanc Starwalker for like $200+-
A Waterman can be had off Amazon for a broad range of prices.
A nice Mont Grappa can be found on eBay from a wide range of price points.
Don’t bother with a Chinese Xezo; perfectly fine construction but i found the roller ball cartridges were terrible and ruined any potential for the remainder of the pen.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

·
Registered
586 Posts
If your heart's not set on a fountain pen, I really love my simple Parker Jotter and Fisher Space Pen. They get the job done!

As for a watch, save up for an Omega Speedmaster Moonwatch. It's SOOOOO worth the sacrificing and waiting!
+2 for space pens, I use one for outdoor work and my Mont Blanc when I’m in the office

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

·
Registered
51 Posts
I assume we are talking about fountain pens. A good starter if you want to see if the fountain pen thing is for you would be pilot metropolitan, kaweco sport, or Lamy safari.

If I were looking in the $50 range for a pen I would probably me looking at a TWSBI 500 series or mini, or a kaweco sport (I’ve really grown to love this pen). Some Conklins can be had at that price and look quite nice but I don’t enjoy the nibs as much.

Double your budget and I would look at something like a pelikan 200 series.

Bump the budget to 150 and you can get into some gold nibs. The Lamy 2000, pilot custom 74, and pilot vanishing point are all very nice and are great to give you a taste of gold nibs.

If you want a rollerball i agree with the Lamy 2000 rollerball as a nice elegant Bauhaus design that works everywhere.

·
Registered
331 Posts