WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Dear everybody,

I am looking for the perfect watch to give to my husband to celebrate the birth of our first child. He is a watch-enthousiast but hasn't really started a collection yet. He always mentions the Breitling Navitimer when we discuss watches. I have done some "research" on my own and came across a few previous-owned Navitimers that are in my price-range (around 3000 euro). But now I am having some doubts wether this is a decent watch to give to someone who wants to start a watch collection? Is a Breitling considered a decent watch or is it overpriced for the watch you get?

Another choice would be the Omega Speedmaster.

Please give your advice.

Thanks!

·
Registered
2,665 Posts
I have no experience with the watches you mention, but I do have experience with two young children.

I would recommend something on a metal bracelet with water resistance of at least 50 meters (5 Bar). 100 meters (10 Bar) or more is preferable. Babies are messy and a watch that can be gently cleaned in the sink is a lifesaver.

I like the ideas you have, as both are chronographs (they have a "stopwatch" function). Something that can count multiple hours of elapsed time is extremely useful to a new father, in my experience.

If he mentions the Navitimer, that might be a good place to start. Perhaps others can give you similarly styled watches in the same price range. If all else fails, you can take him to the nearest AD (Authorized Dealer) and let him be a kid in a candy store with the budgeted amount.

Congratulations on this exciting time!

·
Registered
2,841 Posts
Congratulations! The Breitling Navitimer is an iconic watch, so your choice is really a no-brainer. If that's the one he wants, get it.

One small suggestion: do an equal amount of research on the seller as you did on the watch.

·
Registered
12,424 Posts