WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I am looking to get into an Oris Aquis date, 43mm case, the grey face with orange accents, steel bracelet. My local AD has one in the store, and they have had it for over a year, so she immediately came out and said that would do better on the price (starting out $1999) and came down to $1750. The grey market on this watch is $1100, so I am just unsure of what would be a good price on this watch. This will be my first higher end watch, so I am new to the buying experience, and any advice would be appreciated.

The other watch I am looking at is the Tag Formula 1 Calibre 5. Similar grey market, and the AD came down to $1500 right away, but its at an inferior AD to the Oris dealer. I am leaning towards the Oris, but the higher price has me concerned as its much further off the grey market.

Any thoughts? Or should I pull the trigger grey market? I think there is value in a relationship with the Oris AD, but not $650 worth.

·
Registered
36,279 Posts
Oris is a better quality watch than a tag.

Online Grey market savings is worth the difference.

Get your best online deal and show it to your AD. If they don't match it, buy online.

·
Registered
307 Posts
I could be wrong but isn't MSRP for a steal Aquis $1850? That starting price sounds inflated off the bat. Ask them how close they could come to grey market if your paying cash. If they get within 300 I would buy it, otherwise Im going Grey.

·
Registered
1,710 Posts
Absolutely go grey market or even pre owned if you don't mind going with potentially a different color scheme. I don't think there is really any reason to spend more than 700-800 on an aquis of you don't mind going preowned

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

PS I love mine!!

·
Registered
152 Posts
The retail price for the Aquis 43mm on a bracelet is $1850. I paid $1400 for mine with the gradient blue dial and black bezel in September 2015 at a local AD.

·