WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I'm looking to purchase my first automatic watch. Let me start off by saying that I'm a watch noob. I'm not sure what watch are out there in my budget and that's why I'm here to get advise from the experts. I want to have a nice timepiece so when I look at the time I'll hopefully see a nice watch. I don't scuba dive, fly airplanes, boat - but I'm into nice cars. So, I may be leading towards a chronograph. I like leather straps but maybe I can get a second stainless steel strap if that's possible. I have a small wrist so I don't want the watch's face to be extremely huge. I was eyeing Tag Heuer Carrera. Are there other watches that are similar to TAG?

Thanks

·
Registered
631 Posts
Have a good look in Public Forum and in Affordables, there are literally dozens of discussions with pictures of a huge variety of choices, when you get specific ideas, then come back to us with your question.

As to Tag - well, truth is most of the WIS here rather don't like Tag in general, but there are a few of their higher end watches that are decent. Their quartz watches are, IMHO, overpriced, if you want quartz you can get a good watch for less.

As a RULE, but not always, Chronos tend to be 40mm dia and up, it takes a fair bit of dial to get readable sub-dials.

·
Registered
12,500 Posts
Now if you'd said handwind Poljot, Russische Uhren, Julian Kampmann - Chronographs ,but as far as auto chrono's not too sure.

Welcome to the forum, and it's worth a look at the wruw threads to get an idea of your prefered style before perhaps making a costly purchase.
Just take your time, the search is half the fun.
btw as far as bracelets go sometimes it's better to buy ready fitted then a strap change later as the other way round can be more costly or impossible.

·
Registered
1,159 Posts
try a hamilton x-wind. i got mine from amazon.com at about 1k.

could be my best watch purchase so far!