WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The M88 Sea Lion that I found at the flea market would not run, so I opened up the back and found the problem...there was a loose screw lodged under the balance wheel, keeping the wheel from spinning. I noticed that the screw went into a hole by the movement's edge and did not seem critical..got the screw out and put it where it belongs. The balance wheel will spin for about five seconds then stops again until the watch is shaken...then runs again for five seconds. It looks like the movement needs a good cleaning...but I am wondering...the golden rule is never touch the balance wheel because it is easy to damage...is it possible that having the screw wedged under the wheel could have damaged it ? How can I tell ? I am just learning to fix watches and am open to suggestions...I am thinking of removing the hands, dial etc and cleaning the movement w/ naptha and then re-lubing movement to see if it will run. ( I have the movement out of the case...removed the stem/crown etc). Thanks

artie in miami

·
Banned
8,921 Posts