WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello and bare with me, the first time forum participant.

I am in search of a manual wind GMT.

I have found several great automatics, and even an eco drive, but the wind up seems to elude me. I am not looking for a premium time piece, but something of good quality for sure. The more rugged the better, but I would be interested in anything anyone could find.

I am new to collecting, but have been interested for some time and quite eager to dive in.

Thank you in advance for anyone that can help.

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Why do you want a manual wind in a travel watch?
I see it as the ultimate back up. Not being all that educated on the matter, I see the manual as a fail safe. If I don't have a winder with me I can be sure to wind it myself. That way, even if it sits for a bit, I can be certain it is ready to use after I give it a spin.

I like the autos too, but something about the ritual of winding appeals to me.

Any reason why it would be a bad idea?

-Thanks.

·
Registered
534 Posts
Most autos should hand-wind as well, no?
I see it as the ultimate back up. Not being all that educated on the matter, I see the manual as a fail safe. If I don't have a winder with me I can be sure to wind it myself. That way, even if it sits for a bit, I can be certain it is ready to use after I give it a spin.

-Thanks.

·
Registered
2,529 Posts
I would never wonder about the desire for a hand-wind watch because they are wonderful. Having said that, I can't remember ever seeing a hand-wind GMT. Most hand-wind watches seem to be simpler with fewer things needing to be set if they wind down. In the "auto age" they have also been used because of small size or cost while the GMT complication usually adds bulk and expense. It probably just doesn't fit the market.I'd like to see one though.

·
Moderator at Large
54,019 Posts
All I found are "premium"