WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
968 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello there,

I am a newbie in buying a vintage chronograph but they appeal a lot to me. I am looking for a dress chronograph time period 1965-80. I have been looking in ebay and sale forums.

My question is:

Do I have good chances to buy a vintage chronograph in good working conditions for under $400 - $500?

I would love to get an Omega chronograph for such a price. But, am I out of reach?

That is why I am asking for your advices.

Cheers

·
Registered
18,176 Posts
Hello there,

I am a newbie in buying a vintage chronograph but they appeal a lot to me. I am looking for a dress chronograph age 65-80. I have been looking in ebay and sale forums.

My question is:

Do I have good chances to buy a vintage chronograph in good working conditions for under $400 - $500?

I would love to get an Omega chronograph for such a price. But, am I out of reach?

That is why I am asking for your advices.

Cheers
I have a few I am happy with that I got in that price range... but no Omegas.

My advice: Take your time... spend a month looking.
Learn the market... do lots of searching and reading.
Ask questions... specific questions usually get specific answers.
And finally - Buy the seller. Reputable people sell good watches they stand behind.

Good luck!

·
Registered
968 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
@Eeeb

Thank you for your valuable advices. I would really appreciate some reputable sellers name on ebay via P.M based on your buying experience.

·
Registered
1,948 Posts
FWIW, I always assume that a pre-owned watch I buy will need a service sooner rather than later. Most don't, but if every now and again one does need to go off for a service I'm not really upset.