WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
4,085 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Sooooo.... I am apparently allergic to all 17~ affordable's now as my nickel allergy has worsen and I am getting reaction to 316L.

I have no experience in these more expensive watch brands... what do I need to know? should I find a AD in the Los Angeles area?..buy used. (I am near LA)

How often do u have to service these and how much is it?

Anyways I am looking at the Tudor Pelagos as it is Titanium...which God willing should be fine?

I have some wife convincing to do before I could proceed and I'd have to liquidate my existing Seikos ..etc.. I haven't done the math but I'd be in the ballpark if I moved the other watches.
I think?

Sorry for any noobishnes certainly but curious on best buying experiences and running costs?

Anyway thank you in advance for any assistance...cheers.

·
Registered
4,085 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
The caseback and clasp of the Pelagos is 316Lsteel

Ah....well I guess u just saved me 4.5k~ or whatever.... Is the braclet itself Ti?..maybe I could get a different Ti clasp???.. shoot that is a bit of a bummer.

Well I am.glad to know this now and not later certainly..my wife would kill me if I got the Tudor and then was allergic to it also...=/

·
Registered
40 Posts
Bracelet and case are Ti so you’ll only have contact dermatitis on the anterior and posterior portion of your wrist as opposed to a full ring

·
Registered
4,085 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I am going to need one of those
Bracelet and case are Ti so you’ll only have contact dermatitis on the anterior and posterior portion of your wrist as opposed to a full ring

it would almost be worth it to get the back coated (DLC or ???) if a Ti MM300 clasp is the right size?? Posting photos of the Tutor with a Seiko clasp would be quite entertaining? .. but nah.. I'm not going to spend this much on a watch I'm going to have to mess with to wear without allergy issues...