WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner
1 - 20 of 94 Posts

·
Registered
361 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I had an idea for a project and I thought I would ask a general consensus question, is this a dumb idea?

The reason for the build is, #1, I am an engineer and if anyone here is, we do relate Mickey Mouse to doing work or designs that is subpar. I'm not saying I do but it part of being humorous.

#2, my grandmother (may she rest in peace) used to buy me Mickey Mouse watches back in the 70's when I was a young child. They were nice hand winds that probably would have some value today. Being a boy, I constantly busted main springs and tested their lack of water resistance.

Flash forward to today, I am the a Director of Engineering for the company I work for, I build watches and have a great connection to a Duarte at NEWW for advice and if I get into something I cannot do. I highly recommend him to anyone who needs work done.

Here is a photoshopped skx with a Mickey dial and hands. I bought a watch on eBay just for the dial and hands, Duarte explained the fine art of resizing (broaching) and sent me tips and links to tools to buy.

Analog watch Watch Watch accessory Strap Fashion accessory

I've built all but one watch Duarte is helping me with and again, do you guys think I am dumb for doing this? I think it is cool because the engineer thing and also will make think of my grandmother who passed away way too early.