WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I regret to say I've only had 3 watches during the last 18 years of flying. The first was the Casio issued to me during pilot training. The second is the G-Shock MTG which had almost never left my wrist in over 10 years and I still wear it regularly although it looks a bit rough. The third is the G-Shock GW-2500 which I wear, but am not happy with.

I just upgraded to a Citizen AT9010 but I also found a Hamilton Pilot Day/Date combo that I really liked. The Hamilton was too big at 46mm and it seems there may be some recent quality issues according to some online reviews. I'd like to find out what else may be similar or a better value. I fly 737s and C-130s and want something interesting to wear on my airline trips and on an upcoming deployment.

Be advised I'm a watch novice and my watch vocabulary is limited.

These are the features I'm fond of:
- B-Uhr or similar style
- Automatic movement with a display caseback
- Non-rotating unmarked bezel
- Minutes on the outside, hours on the inside.
- Leather band
- Day/Date windows, not dials.
- 40-44mm width.
- Less than $800USD

Any and all advice is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Consider this perhaps?

Most likely will not meet all of your desires above, but I thought it may pique your interest.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
Very cool. He did a very good job. The face looks exactly like the clocks in our Hercs (none of which have been used/operated in years, however).

I really have my mind set on a mechanical since I've never owned one.

The two watches I've found to be the closest to what I would like are the Steinhart Nav-B Uhr Premium and the Hamilton Khaki Pilot Day Date. I'm not completely satisfied with either, though. Hoping to find others that are similar with all the features I listed, but it looks like I may have to make some comprimises.

·
Registered