WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi All

I think I know the answer already but... I'll still ask ;-) .

I have read some other threads that said maintenance isn't really required for most mechanicals (short of a breakage). Y/N? I'm looking at a NOS 46374B and as long as not maintaining it won't cause it to wear out in the next 30-40 years I'm not to concerned. I'm also not looking for, or expecting, hyper accuracy as long as it keeps within a couple of min a day that will more than suit my purposes as it will mostly be for nostalgia.

Will the time it spends not being wound prolong the 'need' for any maintenance or? I'm sure it will see some fairly regular use but most of the time will be down time for it.

Be gentle. It's my first post and I'm new to the Watch world :) .

Thanks
Nats

·
Registered
11,273 Posts
Hi Nats, and welcome to WUS and Pil-Mil in particular. :)

I think some lube may be required to keep ny mechanical watch going, lest dried-up - or lack of - lubricants destroy the metal of the gears.

·
Registered
397 Posts
Hi All

I think I know the answer already but... I'll still ask ;-) .

I have read some other threads that said maintenance isn't really required for most mechanicals (short of a breakage). Y/N? I'm looking at a NOS 46374B and as long as not maintaining it won't cause it to wear out in the next 30-40 years I'm not to concerned. I'm also not looking for, or expecting, hyper accuracy as long as it keeps within a couple of min a day that will more than suit my purposes as it will mostly be for nostalgia.

Will the time it spends not being wound prolong the 'need' for any maintenance or? I'm sure it will see some fairly regular use but most of the time will be down time for it.

Be gentle. It's my first post and I'm new to the Watch world :) .

Thanks
Nats
Thanks Nats for learning a new word "nostalgia" today!