WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
186 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Fellas,

I'm moving to Borneo this summer, SE Asian Island near the equator. I'll be there for a minimum of 2 years serving in a wildlife preservation/anti-poaching training unit. I've been there before, but that was almost 3 years ago and for only 2 weeks...I have been trying to find a watch for some time now that will survive the mountianous primary jungle, but my "safety" is always on the back of my mind- so should I consider purchasing a Breitling Emergency? The only concern I have is that it is quartz with a battery life of 3 years if I remember and I'm not too sure how well the transmitter will work under jungle canopies if I can't make it to higher open ground. Your thoughts are appreciated.

cheers,
-Jack

·
Registered
2,404 Posts
I'm no expert (more the forum 'tolerated idiot') but my only word of caution would be the water resistance of the Emergency, especially if you're in nice sweaty jungle (although I have no idea what Borneo is like and anyway, Bear Grylls didn't seem to worry about it)

If you're being really strict too, there's the point that it's supposed to be for 'aviation' emergencies only, but then, that point has been debated ad nauseum around these parts.

I now commend my answer to the floor for comment/derision. Whatever you choose, have a great (and safe) time.

·
Registered
449 Posts
The Emergency does seem to have adequate water resistance although the E-Mission is much better rated in that arena. I am sure either will suffice for your needs.

·
Registered
186 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
moisture is a big concern as it is 100% humidity year 'round and it rains just about every day there during the monsoon season, needless to say the watch will be wet 24/7.

the ermgency is a unique timepiece and tool, I rarely ever see any for sale on this forum as I get the idea people like to hang on to them.