WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
884 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All,

It's been a pleasure admiring your great watches, and I love the community on this site. I finally get to share my own watch and story. I've been thinking about which Ball to get since mid-2009, after which I got a nice, but entry level and a few models years old, Hamilton Field Auto Chrono (eta 7750 base) to tide me over. I work as a resident physician in Radiology (which usually means in the dark) and on locum tenens as an ER doc in rural areas. I wanted a watch that: didn't need batteries, didn't need sunlight to stay working (yup, I don't see enough sun to run a Citizen ecodrive and yes, I've owned one), told me what day of the week it was ('cause, yes, one can forget when you don't stop working and go home just because it's night time), I could read easily in dimly lit rooms (which is actually harder than in complete darkness), and could do interval timing.

I stumbled upon Ball watches via this forum shortly before the Spacemaster's were announced. Having done my undergraduate work in astrophysics and math, I loved the theme of the Spacemaster. Also, I loved taking the train into the city every day for medical school for four years...thus, I really appreciated Ball's rail road history.

It took me a while to realize I didn't need a chronograph to do interval timing (like well over a year) and that's what made up my mind -- I wanted the Spacemaster X-Lume. Through a series of fortunate events, I found myself the new owner of one of the early blue X-Lume's...and I love it!