WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Having performed time-keeping duties for me for the past twenty years, my trusty old Wenger Swiss Army field watch has finally been supplanted by my recent acquisition -- the Seiko SARX017 Presage. Since I had grown accustomed to the 37mm dial size of the Wenger quartz, I initially considered purchasing the SARB033, especially considering the glowing reviews and the fact that I don't particularly care for large-sized watches. While the SARB is certainly an attractive watch, I felt that it would be a bit dressy for day-to-day wear in my environs (I'm a photographer). Looking for something a tad sportier, I came across the SARX. Initially, I was a bit concerned about the larger 40mm dial versus the 38mm dial of the SARB, but I was quite happy to find that the SARX was the perfect size for my 6.75 inch wrist.

As many of you know, the SARX017 features a red-tipped second hand and comes with an alligator-grained, black leather band with a deployant clasp while the SARX015 features a plain second hand and comes with a steel bracelet. I found the Seiko-supplied strap to be way too large, as it would easily accommodate an 8-inch wrist. I then purchased a new Seiko SARX bracelet from online distributor for $66. In the meantime, I placed the Seiko on a Hadley-Roma oil tanned strap while I waited for the bracelet to arrive.

All in all, I am extremely happy with my Seiko purchase. The teak dial is subtle, yet adds a bit of flair to this handsome watch. The size is perfect for my wrist and I have been quite pleased with the accuracy shown by the movement thus far. Here is a wrist shot on the Hadley Roma strap:

DSC_0343.jpg